By divine institution, Bishops succeed the Apostles through the Holy Spirit who is given to them. They are constituted Pastors in the Church, to be the teachers of doctrine, the priests of sacred worship and the ministers of governance. By their episcopal consecration, Bishops receive, together with the office of sanctifying, the offices also of teaching and of ruling, which however, by their nature, can be exercised only in hierarchical communion with the head of the College and its members (Canon 375).

Providing pastoral governance for a diocese, bishops who fulfill this function are known as diocesan ordinaries, because they have what canon law calls ordinary (i.e. not delegated) authority for a diocese. Just as, by the decree of the Lord, Saint Peter and the rest of the Apostles form one College, so for a like reason the Roman Pontiff, the successor of Peter, and the Bishops, the successors of the Apostles, are united together in one (Canon 330).

Who is the head of the College of Bishops?

The head of the College of Bishops is the Supreme Pontiff, and its members are the Bishops by virtue of their sacramental consecration and hierarchical communion with the head of the College and its members. This College of Bishops, in which the apostolic body abides in an unbroken manner, is, in union with its head and never without this head, also the subject of supreme and full power over the universal Church (Canon 336).

Archbishops of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Singapore

  • (1972–1976) Archbishop Michel Olçomendy
  • (1977–2000) Archbishop Gregory Yong Sooi Ngean
  • (2001–2013) Archbishop Nicholas Chia Yeck Joo
  • (2013–present) Archbishop William Goh Seng Chye
About our Archbishop
Archbishop's Facebook
Archbishop's Instagram